Stage 01: gems around the Hanseatic city of Wesel am Rhein

23,4 kmapprox. 06:00 a.mschwer

Hike at the Auesee and along the Rheinaue; discover and a gem of nature and rare species.

Experience the dreamlike region of the Lower Rhine on your stage: vast landscapes, gnarled pollarded willows, lush green Rhine meadows, picturesque meadow landscapes - the view stretching to the horizon.

Your path to the trail leads you along the Rhine and the marina to the first highlight of your hike: the Auesee in Wesel. A hike on the Hohe Mark Steig can hardly begin in a more fantastic way. Again and again you can take a look at the lake and enjoy the sight. Enjoy for a while!

Then it continues with the beautiful view and through the Rhine meadows. Here you have a fascinating panoramic view of the far-reaching green and the arms of the old Rhine.

What follows is a real change of perspective, because the climb takes you through the forest Direction "Schloss Diersfordt". This very idyllic route offers the opportunity to take a short break, to explore the area, or to make a detour to the Diersfordter Waldsee, which is located nearby.

And it remains exciting on this stage:
The next surprise is a moor landscape in the Diersford forest: The "Große Veen". A complex of open dunes, bogs, pine and oak forests. A real gem. The moor frog and rare plant species such as the sundew or cotton grass are at home here. Partly over sandy paths and wooden plank bridges, the path winds its way through the unique and unexpected moorland landscape to the Stemkens Heide, which is characterized by inland dunes, sandy dry grassland and sandy heaths.

Another hidden gem is waiting for you, attractively situated and surrounded by wooded dunes: The dreamy moorland "Schwarzes Wasser". It is Wesel's oldest nature reserve!

On narrow paths, through a tall mixed oak and pine forest, the trail leads you through the Diersfordt Forest and then to Blumenkamp, ​​a quiet rural district of Wesel. The last section goes along the Issel and to the end point of this stage on the Hohe Mark Steig, to the Cultural Monument "Die Bärenschleuse".

What an adventure hike! Maybe you just keep hiking on the Hohe Mark Steig.

Manuel Andrack on the Hohe Mark Steig, stage 1 in the Diersfordter Forest / © terres agentur

Map

Overview

Distance: 23,4 kmDuration: approx. 06:00 hStart: WeselDestination: BärenschleuseDifficulty: hardAscent: 70 mDescent: 70 mMain way

Parking

Start: Auesee car park, Auedamm 39 or from Rheinpromenade 10 follow the access path.Destination: Bärenschleuse, 51°41'03.0"N 6°40'06.0"E

Arrival by bus & train

© 2022 Nature Park Hohe Mark | Privacy | Site notice | Photo credits and texts

WEB DESIGN terres' agency

Etappe 01: Schmuckstücke rund um die Hansestadt Wesel am Rhein

23,4 km05:58Schwer

Wandere am Auesee und entlang der Rheinaue; entdecke und ein Kleinod der Natur und seltene Arten.

Erlebe auf deiner Etappe die traumhafte Gegend des Niederrheins: weite Landschaften, knorrige Kopfweiden, saftig grüne Rheinwiesen, malerische Auenlandschaften – den Blick bis zum Horizont.

Deine Zuwegung zum Steig führt dich entlang des Rheins und Yachthafens zum ersten Höhepunkt deiner Wanderung: dem Auesee in Wesel. Fantastischer kann eine Wanderung auf dem Hohe Mark Steig kaum beginnen. Immer wieder kannst du einen Blick auf den See legen und dich des Anblicks erfreuen. Genieße noch eine Weile!

Dann geht es weiter mit der schönen Aussicht und durch die Rheinwiesen. Hier bietet sich dir ein faszinierender Panoramablick über das weitreichende Grün und die Altrheinarme.

Was nun folgt, ist ein echter Perspektivwechsel, denn der Steig führt dich durch den Wald in Richtung Schloss Diersfordt. Diese sehr idyllische Strecke bietet Gelegenheit, eine kurze Rast einzulegen, das Umfeld zu erkunden, oder einen Abstecher zum Diersfordter Waldsee zu machen, der sich in der Nähe befindet.

Und es bleibt spannend auf dieser Etappe:
Die nächste Überraschung ist eine Moorlandschaft im Diersfordter Wald: Das Große Veen. Ein Komplex aus offenen Dünen, Mooren, Kiefern und Eichenwäldern. Ein echtes Kleinod. Der Moorfrosch und seltene Pflanzenarten wie der Sonnentau oder das Wollgras sind hier zuhause. Teils über sandige Wege und Holzbohlenstege windet sich der Weg durch die einmalige und unvermutete Heidemoorlandschaft weiter in die Stemkens Heide, die von Binnendünen, Sandtrockenrasen und Sandheiden geprägt wird.

Ein weiteres, verstecktes Kleinod wartet auf dich, reizvoll gelegen und umgeben von bewaldeten Dünen: Der verträumte Heideweiher „Schwarzes Wasser“. Es ist Wesels ältestes Naturschutzgebiet!

Auf schmalen Pfaden, durch hochgewachsenen Eichen- und Kiefernmischwald führt dich der Steig durch den Diersfordter Wald und dann nach Blumenkamp, einem ruhig gelegenen ländlichen Ortsteil von Wesel. Auf dem letzten Teilstück geht es entlang der Issel und zum Endpunkt dieser Etappe auf dem Hohe Mark Steig, zum Kulturdenkmal „Die Bärenschleuse“.

Welch eine Erlebniswanderung! Vielleicht wanderst du einfach weiter auf dem Hohe Mark Steig.

Karte

Überblick

Strecke: 23,4 kmDauer: 05:58Start: WeselZiel: BärenschleuseSchwierigkeit: SchwerAufstieg: 70 mAbstieg: 70 mHauptweg

©2021 Naturpark Hohe Mark | Datenschutz | Impressum | Bildnachweise und Texte

WEBDESIGN terres'agentur